Looking for hope

IMG_1271

 

It has been a week of awful news , the homophobic deaths in Orlando, the tragic death of Jo Cox and personally an old friend of mine , Bob Holman died of motor neurone disease this week. I have also been reminded several times this week, how extremely hard and sad life is for many of the children I work with. In weeks like this, it is really hard to find any hope, to find any light in the darkness. I have found myself each day acknowledging how hard it feels, how desperately sad it makes me feel. When life is dark it’s important to acknowledge the darkness and the feelings that brings. But I also know, particularly with the children I work with, I need to find some light, some hope.

The hope for me this week has been reading Brendan Cox’s words, just hours after his wife’s death, calling on people to “fight against the hatred that killed her”, reminding people how Jo believed in a better world. Bob Holman’s death is very sad, but he leaves behind a legacy of fighting for justice and against poverty, his work influenced and touched many people, my memory of Bob is that he hoped and believed that things could be different, he believed there could be change.

Finding light in my nurture work has been through seeing the children laughing, engaging and playing, these sound like small things, but for many of the children I work with, that is a huge achievement. Also in the rest of life enjoying being with friends and family, enjoying the preciousness of our time together and giving thanks for our lives.

4 thoughts on “Looking for hope”

  1. Well said, Sonia. I have felt quite low this week and i keep thinking of those little children and how and what do you say to a child when their Mother has been murdered. The manner of Jo Cox’s death keeps replaying in my mind and it would be easy to despair. I just have to
    remind myself that the vast majority of people are good…and among them are some exceptional people! Here’s to Hope…keep the candle burning.xxx

    Like

    1. My hope is the family have some good support and guidance over the next months and years. Your right we need to hold onto hope

      Like

Leave a Reply

