Looking after ourselves

 

IMG_1457

 

The importance of looking after ourselves can so often be overlooked. I think this is particularly the case for people working in the caring professions, where our role is to look out for the needs of others. Taking care of ourselves can at times be layered and it isn’t always easy to work out what we need to do. Other times it is very simple. One day this week a child I work with was sitting on the classroom carpet, he leant forward, with his head on the floor; I knelt down behind him, gently rubbed his back and spoke to him. He turned around and without saying anything he leant into me, he just wanted to be cuddled. At that moment his needs were really quite simple, he needed to be held, he needed to know someone was there for him, that he was loved and cared for. It was a privilege to be able to offer him the comfort he needed in that moment.

Sometimes as adults we find it difficult to recognise what our needs are, how we can increase and enhance our own well-being, but we just know, as that little boy did, that we don’t feel right.There are times when we need to ask ourselves challenging questions and when we need to admit we don’t know what we are doing or that we are not very happy with the situation we are in. At these times, we need to find others that we trust, that we can go to, talk to, and find support from. Sometimes we are not able to enhance our  own well-being by ourselves but we need others to walk alongside us and allow ourselves to be nurtured, held, supported and guided.

This morning I knew I needed to be outside, to wander through the meadow at the back of our house and enjoy the space, quietness, and beauty around me. This time gave me space to think and reflect on conversations I’d had this week, to think about and be thankful for the people who have held me, supported me and loved me this week and have helped to improve my well-being.

 

Image-Tunley meadow early this morning.

2 thoughts on “Looking after ourselves”

  1. Beautifully written post! I especially loved the ending, it gives me a beautiful visual of your experience and inspires me to write creatively about it, too! =]

    This is a subject matter where we need as many posts about as possible, so thank you for contributing to it so flawlessly! =] ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

